top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie

Cobblestones and Kindness (Pre-departure musings part 1)

Updated: Aug 16, 2022

Since my last post, I’ve learned some useful words and phrases like la entrada (cover, like to get into a bar) and de guarnición (as a side dish) that I really didn’t know I didn’t know. I’ve booked a gorgeous Airbnb on a quiet street in the center of the Casco Histórico with four other Fulbrighters, where I’ll spend my first week starting at Jesuitas and pressing play on my own personal episode of House Hunters International.


It kind of feels like I'm driving a bumper car without a break pedal and a repeated “Ellie, think of what would happen if you went back and told your twelve-year-old self what you were doing right now…” muttered to myself as I zoom in on another map of winding Madrid streets and try to understand whether Spaniards are actually using BlaBlaCar like Uber (or was I misinformed by some paid ad?)—both at the same time. I’ve also met most of my cohort of Riojanos via Zoom and everyone seems so happy to be here! That’s just…the best.


I’ve also begun to taste a mere sample of something I sense may prove quite a trend: the unabashed kindness of the locals. I’ve worked my way through a list of landlords sent by past grantees and some from nice listings on idealista to send casual initial inquiries about properties. Though many said their places were already filled up by auxiliares and university students, some offered me advice for where to look and what to expect (don’t go looking for 2+ bathrooms in the Casco Histórico, for example); one who doubles as an insurance agent offered me her card; another chatted to me about her children who are doing exchanges in Louisiana and Ohio and recommended some advice for completing part of the Camino de Santiago this year. My first-night Airbnb hostess offered special early check-in for our group of ten, and my photographer host for our house hunting week graciously said he would be excited to show us some great places up for rent if we aren’t interested in considering his place for the long term. These people are not only willing but eager to go above what is asked of them in order to help me, a poor and confused almost-expat, feel at home as quickly as possible in their beloved cities.


And I’m so ready to meet them all in real life for a cup of coffee and a nice little trip or two (by yours truly) on some loose cobblestones in the streets.


So soon.


With Love,

Ellie

P.S. I did already change the name of this blog! And now it sounds like a Hallmark Movie title, but that’s hilarious, and I like it that way.

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page